ISBN: 9781615194087
Publishing: June 13, 2017
Price: $9.95 US
Paper Over Boards: 128 pages
Subject: Uncategorized
Preorder the Book
Demagoguery and Democracy
 

In the vein of On Bullshit and The Dictator’s Handbook, an appealingly brief (and urgently needed) primer to demagoguery: what it is, how it works, why it’s dangerous, and how we can defeat it

Demagoguery and Democracy is a brief, incisive guide to what demagogues (those who turn complicated political situations into polarized identity politics) say and do to gain and hold power, and what citizens can do to restore democracy. As author and longtime rhetoric professor Patricia Roberts-Miller shows, demagogues might seem volatile and spontaneous, but—from the time of ancient Greece to the age of our demagogue-in-chief, Donald Trump—they actually follow a rather recognizable pattern of irrationality. They appeal to fear but claim courage. They pay lip service to authenticity but embrace obfuscation. They resist concrete policy debate because they prefer to divide and polarize until policy discussion is nothing more than identity politics. The list goes on.

The key to resisting demagogues is to know their playbook—to recognize demagoguery when you see it, and to know what it leads to—and to learn the ways an engaged citizenry can hasten a demagogue’s fall.

Available in a 8-copy counter display
counter display9781615194315
$79.60
To order, please contact our distributor, Workman Publishing, and reference product number 779431.

Patricia Roberts-Miller, PhD, is a Professor of Rhetoric and Writing at the University of Texas at Austin. She is the author of Fanatical Schemes: Proslavery Rhetoric and the Tragedy of Consensus, Voices in the Wilderness: Public Discourse and the Paradox of Puritan Rhetoric, and Deliberate Conflict: Argument, Political Theory, and Composition Classes.